Buon Viaggio

May 23, 2012 § Leave a comment

A lot has happened in my life in the past 6 months.  Most importantly, I graduated about a week and a half ago with my Master’s degree in Nutrition Science, got matched to a dietetic internship program (!), and made the decision to take a trip to Italy!

In 5 days, I will be on a plane to Italy where I will spend 10 days exploring Italian food and culture.  During my last semester, I registered for a Mediterranean diet class where we studied Mediterranean food and culture, the history of these regions, Italian culture, eating practices, and more.  As a class, we travel to Italy to live on an agriturismo in Tuscany for half of our time and in the city of Florence for the remainder of the trip.

I will be spending my time learning how to make cheese and honey, attend several wine tastings, visit a pasta factory, learn to cook a variety of Italian dishes, take day trips to different regions, listen to lectures on the importance of organic and sustainable growing practices, and of course, eat lots of delicious food!

I will be taking many photos and notes during my trip and hope to share my journey with you through when I return!

Cinque Terre, Riomaggiore

Photo source: Troy Hoover, 2011.  Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy.

Buon Viaggio!

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Buon Viaggio at Vitamin Amy.

meta

