Bean Enchiladas

July 22, 2011 § 2 Comments

Hey everyone and Happy Friday!  Smile

Today is a special day in Saratoga – it’s the opening day of the Saratoga Race Course!  I know quite a few people that attended the races today, but I opted out due to the high temps and humidity – 92 degrees F with a heat index of 100 degrees?  No thanks, I’ll stay in the air conditioning!  I started off my day by attending the Friday morning spin class at my gym then headed to the hospital for a few hours of interning.

Since it’s nice and cool in our house, we decided it would be ok to use the oven to make some delicious bean enchiladas for dinner!  These are seriously so good and super simple to make. My mom picked up the enchilada kit from Old El Paso at the grocery store and a can of refried beans.  The kit comes with tortillas, enchilada sauce, and a packet of seasoning.

All you have to do is mix the refried beans with the seasoning, place a little bit of the bean mixture on each of the tortillas.  Roll up each tortilla and place them side by side in a baking dish.  Then, pour the enchilada sauce over all the tortillas.  Sprinkle all the enchiladas with cheese – we used a Mexican blend of shredded cheeses.  Cover the baking dish with aluminum foil and bake at 400 degrees F for 25 minutes.  Simple as that. 😀

On the side, we had steamed zucchini and shredded lettuce and salsa.  I didn’t add my salsa until after I snapped my photos – oops!  I also sprinkled fresh chives on my enchilada and parsley on the zucchini slices.  Both the chives and the parsley were straight from our garden.

004

006

007

Tonight officially kicks off the Saratoga racing season with the Hats Off festival in downtown Saratoga.  There is a ton of live music and lots of people!  Troy and I have gone the past couple of years and it’s been a lot of fun.  As of right now I’m not sure if we are going to go (since it’s still boiling outside and Troy spent the whole day at the races!), but we’ll see.  It’s nice to be low key on a Friday night – I’m all about relaxing at home (in the air conditioning of course ;-))

Enjoy your Friday evening and stay cool!

What kind of annual festivals or celebrations does your town or city have?

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Bean Enchiladas

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bean Enchiladas at Vitamin Amy.

meta

