Scrumptious Salads and a Mexican Feast

July 9, 2011 § Leave a comment

Hey everyone!  I’m back in Saratoga after a successful and productive trip to Syracuse.  I organized the office I will be working in for the next year and did inventory on all the nutrition materials and curriculums that we will need throughout the semester.  This coming school year, I will be the graduate assistant for a nutrition organization at Syracuse University that is run by both undergraduate and graduate nutrition students.  The organization was started by one of my professors and I joined as a member last August during my first year of graduate school.  I really enjoyed all the nutrition-focused presentations we gave to various audiences, including young children, high school students, college students, and even parents.  I am ready to take on the challenge of running this organization and hope to run it as smoothly as Kathryn did last year!

While in Syracuse, I just had to do a little grocery shopping at Wegmans! It’s seriously the best grocery store. Ever.  For dinners, my mom and I decided on salads since they are quick and easy – plus it was hot outside!  We chose a few items from the amazing vegetarian bar and olive bar at Wegmans to top our salads.

My salad included:

  • Greens
  • Fire roasted tomatoes
  • Chickpeas
  • Asparagus cooked with shallots
  • Kalamata olives
  • Green olives stuffed with feta
  • Green olives stuffed with garlic

001

This salad was a winner!

003

*********************************

This morning I went to my gym out in Syracuse for the launch of the Body Training Systems Group Step July 2011 release!  It was so great to see all the people I’ve worked out with all last year and go to my favorite Saturday morning workout class.  When I’m in school, I look forward to going to step class every Saturday morning.  It’s a nice way to start the weekend and it’s early enough in the morning that I have the entire day ahead of me to do homework (lucky me, right?!).

My mom and I returned home in the late afternoon and unpacked before enjoying Mexican food for dinner!  We ate a little bit early since my brother had to head to work.

Condiments.

007

My plate – broken up corn tortilla, seasoned ground beef, lettuce, tomato, cheese, and Cholula sauce!

011012

I definitely went back for seconds!

I am ready to watch some TV and relax before I head to bed in a few hours, goodnight!

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Scrumptious Salads and a Mexican Feast at Vitamin Amy.

meta

