Kickoff to the Holiday Weekend

July 1, 2011 § Leave a comment

Woohoo!  The holiday weekend has officially begun!  I definitely love the Fourth of July more than most people since it’s also my birthday!  Who wouldn’t want a 3-day weekend, bbqs with family and friends, and fireworks every year for their birthday?! Open-mouthed smile

I have lots of fun things planned for the weekend, so it should be a great time!  The only thing that will be missing from my birthday weekend will be Troy.  He is currently livin’ it up with his family in Italy and is having a great time exploring the city (while eating amazing food!).

I already got my birthday gift and I’m absolutely loving it!  My parents got me a Nook color!  I really wanted a reading tablet that also had the ability to access the Internet.  Most of my readings for school are posted as PDF files, so it will be much easier to use the Nook rather than printing out research papers or reading from my heavy laptop.  I’m obsessed with it!

**********************

For dinner, my mom decided to get creative with her Kitchen Aid mixer and make pasta dough.  My mom learned how to perfect her pasta-making skills while in Italy with my dad.  I love the freshness of it, especially with delicious homemade tomato sauce!

Rolling out the dough

001002

We decided to cut the dough into squares.

003

Homemade pasta + tomato sauce garnished with fresh basil.

008

009

We used the fresh basil from our backyard!

007

Salad and baguette on the side.  I dressed my salad and dipped my bread into a little olive oil.

005

006

I’m staying home and relaxing tonight since I’m taking an early BodyPump class tomorrow morning.  This is one of my favorite classes and I’m ready to feel the burn!  Have a great night!

Have you ever made or eaten homemade pasta?

What are your plans for the holiday weekend?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Kickoff to the Holiday Weekend at Vitamin Amy.

meta

