Recipes from Tuscany, Part I

November 29, 2010 § 2 Comments

Hello!  I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving, I did Smile.

My parents recently returned from a trip to Italy where they spent almost two weeks touring around and spending time at various cooking schools!  I thought it would be fun to share some of the recipes they brought back with them.

Cacciucco dell ‘Orto or Vegetable, Bean, and Cherry Tomato Bruschetta

  • 5 leaves Swiss chard
  • 5 leaves kale
  • 1 zucchini
  • 1 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 leek
  • 1/2 cup boiled cannellini beans (canned beans are fine too!)
  • 3/4 cup cherry tomatoes
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 1 celery stalk
  • Sage leaves
  • Hot pepper flakes

Slice all vegetables and saute in olive oil starting with the leek, kale, Swiss chard, celery, and zucchini.  In another pan, saute the sage, smashed garlic cloves, and hot pepper flakes.  Add cherry tomatoes and cook for 10 minutes.

Toast slices of day old Italian bread on a grill pan.

Arrange 2 slices of bread on serving plate and top with vegetable mixture, beans, and tomatoes.  Drizzle a small amount of extra virgin olive oil on top, black pepper, and serve immediately.

Italy 2010 - card 2 186

My mom made this dish while I was home for break this past week and served it with a simple chicken soup.  This dish is very different from the traditional tomato basil bruschetta I’m used to.  It was delicious!

What’s your favorite bruschetta topping?

Tagged:

§ 2 Responses to Recipes from Tuscany, Part I

  • Margaret says:

    Hi Amy,
    I hlave been enjoying your blog since learning about it from G/Jeannes at the sailing club. This morning with a bag of turnips, not used at Tgiving, still filling up the vegetable bin in the fridge, I remembered your mention of cajun turnip fries. You only had a picture, no recipe so I googled turnip fries and found a recipe that used parmesan cheese and onion powder. I added oregano. They were a tasty lunch.
    We’re looking forward to the Tuscan cooking party this winter.
    Happy Holidays to you and your family. Be warm and I’ll look forward to seeing you at the sailing club.

    margaret

    • vitaminamy says:

      Margaret,

      Thank you very much! I’m glad the turnip fries turned out well, I may just have to try them that way! They sound really good. I have a few more recipes from Tuscany to post, so be on the look out! Happy Holidays to you as well and I hope to see you soon.

      Amy

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Recipes from Tuscany, Part I at Vitamin Amy.

meta

