Back To School

August 29, 2010 § Leave a comment

Tomorrow is the first day of classes at SU…already!  I arrived at my apartment Saturday afternoon after a fun-filled send-off back in Saratoga on Friday.

Friday

Troy’s family cooked a wonderful and special dinner to celebrate me going away to graduate school.  Troy assembled this delicious eggplant bake.  The casserole had lots of eggplant, tomato, onion, Italian breadcrumbs, mozzarella cheese and more!

002

Grilled veggies topped with parmesan cheese.

003

Steaks!

004

My plate.

005

006

The Hoover’s always make the best dinners :-D.

For dessert, Mrs. Hoover made me a cake!

001

It was so perfect I didn’t want to cut into it!  But I did anyway…

009

Yummy cake :-).  Thank you Mrs. H!

Funny faces and laughter over coffee and cake.

010

011

015

016

It was such a fun evening and a great end to the summer.  Thank you Hoover family :).

Saturday

Once my Mom and I arrived at my apartment on Saturday, we unloaded the rest of the stuff from the car and headed straight to dinner!  We chose to get soup and appy’s from the Outback Steakhouse down the road from my apartment.

Chicken tortilla soup.  I also ordered the grilled shrimp appetizer but was too hungry to take a picture of it :).

023

Mom and I spent the night relaxing and watching Meet the Focker’s…don’t judge, I don’t have cable TV!

Sunday

This morning, we woke up bright and early to head to the gym to take the 8am spinning class.  Everybody at the gym was very friendly and polite.  The spin class was different from what I’m used to, but it was definitely a great and sweaty workout.  The instructor was extremely energetic!

After spinning, it was time to get groceries!  My mom and I spent almost three hours browsing through Wegman’s getting everything that I needed…which was pretty much everything!  First shopping trips are always long!  I’ve missed Wegman’s,  it’s amazing!

Dinner

We decided to get fresh halibut fillets for dinner.  They were a bit pricey but it was my first meal in my new place…and Mom paid!  Thanks Mom :-D.

026

We enjoyed roasted potatoes and green beans with the halibut – which we broiled in the oven.

027

Fresh greens with local tomatoes, sliced onion, carrots and crumbled feta topped with Italian parmesan cheese.  So good!

025

A wonderful first meal!!

I am about to plop down on the couch, watch the Emmy’s for a little bit and drink some tea before heading to bed early.  Gotta get my rest for the first day of school!  Hope everyone had a great weekend!

Question of the night: What grocery store could you spend hours in?

I could spend the whole day in Wegman’s, Trader Joe’s & Whole Foods!  There’s so much to look at and drool over :).

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Back To School at Vitamin Amy.

meta

