One Step Closer

August 12, 2010 § Leave a comment

I’m back in action!  Tuesday morning, I headed out to Syracuse with my parents to move the bulk of my furniture into my new apartment.  Of course it had to be 90+ degrees with high humidity that day, but we got the job done!  I live on the third floor so it was quite the task to haul everything up the stairs.   Needless to say, we were all drenched with sweat by the time we were done!

After assembling various furniture items and setting up the kitchen, we were hungry!  We showered up (definitely going to need a new shower head!) and headed to dinner.  I am so thankful to be within walking distance of the SU campus and Restaurant Row.  Restaurant Row is right off campus and has so many cute little cafes and shops.  I was very happy to see a Dunkin Donuts, Starbucks, a frozen yogurt shop, fresh baked cookies ($1.00!!) and more!  This could be dangerous…

We decided to eat at an Irish pub called Faegan’s.  It is quite the popular student hangout spot.  They have a large selection of beer as well as traditional pub food.  I was very happy to see an interesting list of salads as well as panini’s on the menu!

I ordered the Bandaloop salad.  Broccoli, artichoke hearts, onions, grape tomatoes sauteed in a balsamic sauce, served over fresh spinach leaves, topped with toasted pine nuts and feta cheese.

001

So good!

002

After walking around for a little while after dinner, we headed back to the apartment to get ready for bed.  Moving is exhausting!

Wednesday

Breakfast was a fun treat!  IHOP!!!

Dad and I started off with a pot of much needed coffee.  Tea for mama.  I love this mug!  I wanted to steal it but that wouldn’t have been right ;-).

003

For breakfast, I decided on the 2x2x2 – 2 eggs, 2 buttermilk pancakes and 2 slices of turkey bacon.  I wish there was a 1x1x1 because I only ate half of what was on my plate!

004

The pancakes obviously stole the show!

005

After breakfast, my mom and dad bought me a mattress, we checked out the gym, went to Wegman’s!, and got the internet installed in my apartment.  Whew!  We headed back to Saratoga around 2:30pm.  The drive is only about 3 hours so it wasn’t bad at all.

Dinner

We didn’t feel like cooking a huge dinner after traveling, so we kept it healthy and light last night.  We decided on tuna salad with a ton of veggies!

Romaine plus hard boiled eggs, red pepper, onion, tomatoes x2, and avocado!

026

027

028

029

My mom made deviled eggs with the remainder of the hard boiled eggs.  A little sprinkle of paprika on top.  I’m not a huge fan of these but I still had one anyway :).

030

Olives + pepperoncini’s.

031

Tuna salad with chopped onion and celery.

032

My plate.

033

034

Nutritious and delicious :-D.

035

It feels very good to know that I have the bulk of my stuff moved into my apartment.  I feel a lot less stressed now :-).

I was planning on hitting the gym early this morning but decided sleeping in for a little longer was more important.  I stayed out pretty late last night visiting Troy :-).  I’ve been out of the gym for 2 days now!  Although, I think moving all my belongings up three flights of stairs about eighty times most definitely counted as a workout.  I’m thinking a BodyFit class is in order for tonight!  Back to work, back to work…

Question of the morning: What’s your favorite breakfast place?

IHOP has wonderful pancakes, but Country Corner in Saratoga has a delicious place in my heart for their oatmeal pancakes and maple sausage as well as other yummy breakfast items.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading One Step Closer at Vitamin Amy.

meta

