Banana Oat Breakfast Bowl

August 6, 2010 § Leave a comment

It’s Friday! Yippee! 🙂

After work last night, mom and I headed to the gym for a little cardio and a yoga class.  My cardio workout consisted of 30 min. of interval training.  I alternated 2 minutes of running (6.5 pace, 1.0 incline) with 2 minutes of incline walking (4.2 pace, 6.0 incline).  I was sufficiently sweaty by the end :).  I brought a change of clothes for yoga because there’s nothing worse than sitting in a cold sweat.  Yoga was challenging yet relaxing at the same time.  It was a nice change to take a nighttime yoga class and stretch out the day’s tension.

Dinner was courtesy of Dad!  While my mom and I om-ed our way through the evening, Dad was busy at home cooking away.  He made grilled filet mignons, cauliflower, spinach, and salads.  He definitely earned a gold star for all those veggies and for making my very own special salad!

My plate.

004

I enjoyed half a slice of flax bread drizzled with olive oil.  I gotta have my carbs!

005

Mmm iron :-D.

006

My dad is very crafty and made a Vitamin Amy salad!  Check out that tomato slice :-D.

003

Today

I woke up bright and early today and headed straight to the gym for a 5:30am Pilates class.  I haven’t taken Pilates in such a long time and I’m glad that I went.  I found that my muscles were stronger than I thought they were!  Must be all that BodyPump ;-).  It’s such a great total body strengthening workout and also creates lean muscle.  What’s not to love?!  The instructor was awesome as well.  She was very upbeat but unfortunately, this morning was her last day teaching.  She has a little one on the way!

Breakfast

My mom bought bananas at the store yesterday and since they were perfectly ripe this morning, I knew I had to take advantage and use them up!

Banana oats!

008

My banana oat bowl included:

  • 1/3 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 banana
  • Vanilla extract
  • Cinnamon
  • Sliced almonds and chopped walnuts
  • 2 blobs of Peanut Butter & Co. Crunch Time

009

So tasty and filling!

011

I have exciting plans for tonight!  Troy and I are going to an Interpol concert with our friends Rory and Lucy.   I’ve never seen them live before and I’m excited to go!  Let the weekend fun begin :-D.

Question of the morning:  Do you enjoy going to concerts?

I’ve never been much of a concert goer and I haven’t been to one in awhile.  I think if you go with a group of good friends you’re bound to have a fantastic time!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Banana Oat Breakfast Bowl at Vitamin Amy.

meta

