Panini Party

July 15, 2010 § Leave a comment

I’d like to think I’m a pretty smart girl and that I am always on top of things, but this was not the case tonight.  I was really proud that I got to the gym early to set up my equipment and pay for my final month (I move in approximately 1 month!).  I thought BodyFit started at 5:30 but come to find out, class started at 5:15! D’oh! I only missed ten minutes but seriously, I felt like an dum dum.  

In other news, dinner was fantastic!  After this weekend our (newly engaged!) friends are coming home so I decided to bring a bunch of my stuff home tonight.  While I was working out, Mom was prepping for tonight’s meal…eggplant panini’s!  Eggplant panini’s are particularly special to me.  When I worked at the local bakery and cafe in town, Mrs. London’s, this was my absolute favorite sandwich.  Guess who made these sandwiches every day during that summer?  Troy!  He always made sure to save one for me so I could have it for lunch 🙂 What a guy ❤

My mom made an incredibly yummy rendition of this panini.  First, she prepared the eggplant by slicing it into medium size rounds.  She then coated the slices with salt, pepper, olive oil, balsamic vinegar and fresh basil.  Finally, bake in the oven for about 20 minutes on 400 degrees.  

Our family loves to use ciabatta bread for our panini’s.  We slice it lengthwise and pull out the insides of the bread…and eat them!  Only the crust and a hollow middle is left.  Spread red sauce on the bottom of the bread, top it with eggplant slices, fontina cheese and fresh basil.  Put it on the panini press with a little olive oil on top and wait until the cheese is nice and melted 🙂

You don’t have to have a panini press in order to make one.  You can put the sandwich on a regular ol’ pan and top it with a heavy plate or another pan.  Works just as well!

My Cuisinart panini press

It’s almost done!

Ready to eat.

I’m drooling all over again.

Side salad with fresh arugula and tomatoes. 

Tomi really wanted some of my arugula!  Excuse my post-gym appearance. 

Hungry boy.

Give me that arugula!

 

My plate.  I had 2 more pieces of panini after this one.  I was a hungry gal! 

This meal was great!  It took about 15 minutes of prep and 30 minutes of cooking time.  Not too shabbayyy 🙂  Tonight’s agenda?  A little laundry and relaxation.  

Question of the night: What’s your favorite panini sandwich? 

Goodnight! 

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Panini Party at Vitamin Amy.

meta

