Mid-Week Date Night

July 14, 2010 § Leave a comment

Troy and I had a mid-week dinner date tonight!  We both received a birthday gift certificate to Max London’s restaurant from the owner himself – Max and Carey (his fiance).  It was a lot of fun going out on a weeknight!  I feel like a middle-schooler when I say that.   

Wednesday nights at Max’s are Wood Fired Wednesdays aka $9 pizza night!  We were so there.  The entire menu is extremely creative, unique and gourmet.  It changes all the time depending on what ingredients are in season.  I’m constantly trying something new whenever I go there.  For our appetizer we split the panzanella salad.  It was a bread salad mixed with fresh peas, caramelized onions, arugula, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, arugula and parmigiano cheese.  

Amazing-ness

Since there was no way we could decide or be satisfied eating just a single pizza, we each chose a different one to order.  I ordered the BLT pizza and Troy ordered the Speck pizza.  

BLT pizza: Bacon, tomatoes, scallions and goat cheese.  So good!

Mmm look at the big chunks of goat cheese!

Speck pizza: Prosciutto, fresh mozzarella cheese, arugula on top!

Beautiful greenery 🙂

I had 2 slices of the BLT pizza and 1 slice of the Speck.  The BLT pizza was my personal favorite.  The flavor of the goat cheese with the bacon was to die for.  I’ve been to Max’s many times before and I’ve never had a bad experience.  The food is ALWAYS delicious and amazingly fresh.  We love it there! 

Max’s also has amazing beers on draft and kindly let us know that a woman that works for Ommegang Brewery in Cooperstown, NY was at the bar offering samples of a few of their brews.  I’m more of a wine girl myself but the beers I sampled really surprised me.  They were good!  Troy ordered a Rare Vos to drink with his dinner. It was very light and refreshing, a summery beer.  I picked up some hints of spice – maybe allspice?  I also sampled the Ommegang Abbey Ale.  This was a darker beer that tasted a bit fruity with a hint of spice as well.  Delicious!  I don’t think I’ve ever given beer a fair chance because I always associated beer with disgusting frat boys and college parties.  I’m glad I tried something new!  

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mid-Week Date Night at Vitamin Amy.

meta

