Yogalates

July 13, 2010 § 2 Comments

This morning I went to my very first Yogalates class at my gym.  I wanted to get an early start so I decided to try it out.  I’m really getting into early morning workouts lately.  I love not having to rush home from work, change my clothes and race to the gym.  It feels great to be done and feel accomplished at the start of my day.  

The class started at 6am and lasted only 45 minutes.  Each song track was used for a different exercise.  We did the usual sun salutations and warrior poses of yoga but added strength to the poses to incorporate the pilates part of the class.  It was more fast-paced than yoga and each movement flowed right into the next.  I enjoyed this because I like to keep moving and find it hard to stay in the moment if I am idle in a position for too long.  We also did abs and a nice total body stretch at the end.  This class was a nice change from my usual routine and gave me a good stretch but I wasn’t sweating by any means.  Until I started to run…ready for some exciting news?

I ran 3 miles today without stopping!  After Yogalates I laced up my sneaks and headed to the track.  I decided to try running on a flat surface rather than tackling hills in the humidity again.  Yes, the track can be boring but it was air conditioned and I was already there.  I don’t have a fancy Garmin or any kind of stopwatch for that matter at the moment so my stats are approximate.  I wasn’t looking to be fast.  My goal was to run the entire 3 miles and I did!  It took me about 30 minutes to do 3 miles so I averaged about a 10 minute mile.  Not too bad for a beginner.  My calves are screaming though, hopefully the stretching I did after my run helped!  

I met my parents for Part I of my breakfast.  We headed to Uncommon Grounds for coffee and bagels.  It’s a rainy day in Saratoga but that didn’t stop us from sitting outside under the safety of the cafe awnings.  I wasn’t feeling like a huge bagel so I split an oat bran bagel with my mom.  

View from our table

1st quarter of my bagel with a teeny schmear of cream cheese.

 

I ate the other quarter before I could snap a picture.  I was hungry!

A cup o’ hazelnut coffee.  Yum. 

When I arrived back at the apartment, I quickly showered and made myself a small yogurt bowl for Part II of my breakfast. 

Yogurt + berries + 1/4 cup of crunchiness

This morning’s question: Has anyone out there tried a Yogalates class and what did you think about it?  

§ 2 Responses to Yogalates

  • thebettylife says:

    Hi Amy!
    I searched WordPress for blogs on Yogalates and yours appeared. Having recently completed 30 days of Yogalates (as personal challenge I set myself, mad yes…) I have found it a great way to get an all over body exercise.
    Do you still keep it up? I brought Louise Solomans DVD’s and try and do a couple of sessionas a week now… everyday was a bit intense!
    Good to stumble across your blog. Like you, I am studying Nutrition, particularly, Human Nutrition and Obesity. How are you finding the studies?
    Take care, Betty

    • vitaminamy says:

      Hi Betty,

      I haven’t been doing Yogalates as much right now since the gym I go to does not have the class. I really enjoyed doing it though, I liked the mixture of yoga and pilates. It was a great workout! Congratulations on your personal challenge, I don’t think I could do it everyday! Human Nutrition and Obesity is very interesting, do you want to become a dietitian? I am working on my master’s degree and thesis at the moment then will enter the dietetic internship program after that. My classes are challenging and extremely interesting, I love what I do! Thanks for reaching out :-).

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Yogalates at Vitamin Amy.

meta

