Tuesday Tacos

July 13, 2010 § Leave a comment

I got out of work earlier than expected so I jumped at the chance to head straight home and relax on the couch.  Such a hard life…Don’t worry, I didn’t have much time to relax before I had to start on dinner.  

Tacos for dinner tonight!  Taco night is not only healthy and delicious, it is a quick-cooking meal.  I placed 1 lb. of 93% lean ground beef into a pan, broke it up with my wooden spoon/fork thingy (do you love my technical name?) and browned the meat.  Once browned, I drained the leftover meat water (ew) and added the taco seasoning + fresh water to help it thicken.  A few minutes later, dinner was ready!

I made a taco bar at the table for Troy and I.  Toppings included:

Sadly, there was no cheese which is obviously a huge component of Mexican cuisine.  There’s no point in buying a ton of groceries when I will only be house-sitting for a couple more days. 

For my taco dinners I always break up the hard shells and make a taco salad.  I’ve always done that since I was little, I wonder why?  Probably because I figured out I could fit more toppings into a salad (like guacamole and lots of cheese!) instead of trying to stuff it into a shell 🙂

My taco salad

Toppings piled high.  I swear there’s meat under there!

It doesn’t look like I had a lot of food but Troy and I definitely had our fair share of tortilla chips while sampling the new salsa.  

Losing it with Jillian is on tonight!  This is a great show because it’s so important to bring awareness and change to these unhealthy families.  I’ve found that the majority of these families just don’t know what to do in order to change.  All they know is how to live the same way they’ve always been living.  Jillian is good at showing each family member how to reach their full potential and lead healthier, happier lives.  I love Jillian but I sure wouldn’t want her yelling at me!  I’m more of a Bob fan myself.  

Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tuesday Tacos at Vitamin Amy.

meta

