A Nice Surprise

July 11, 2010 § Leave a comment

Good morning!  Troy and I have a fun-filled day planned!  But first, last nights dinner.  

When we went to the grocery store the other day, we saw that pork chops were on sale.  Pork can get dry easily so I was determined to come up with a recipe that left our pork chops nice and moist..and yummy 🙂

I prepped the pork chops by seasoning them with sea salt, pepper, cajun seasoning, garlic powder and olive oil.  Troy fired up the grill and cooked the chops for about 5-6 minutes each side.  I also made brown rice and thawed a few large handfuls of frozen pea pods.  

While dinner was cooking, I set the table on the front porch.  It was a perfect night to eat outside!  

Glass o’red 

My plate

Mmm look at that chop!

This dinner came out fantastic!  The cajun seasoning gave it amazing flavor, I forgot how yummy this seasoning can be. No dry pork chops here 🙂 Good job grilling Troy!

We decided earlier in the day yesterday to head up to Million Dollar Beach on Lake George today.  After dinner, we swung by each of our houses to pick up bathing suits, towels, sunscreen and snacks of course!  When we got to Troy’s house, his family was hosting a full house of family and friends.  His house is right by a park that was having a festival called Park Fest (go figure!) all day yesterday.  We spent some time there chatting and saw a fireworks show!  We could see them perfectly from the screened-in porch…no bugs, just the way I like it.  

It was a nice surprise to see fireworks!  We were in the right place at the right time. I usually associate fireworks and my birthday since my birthday is July 4th so it was kind of like my birthday all over again..except it wasn’t.  Ha! 🙂   

Right now, as I sit here sipping chocolate glazed doughnut coffee, (yes it is as good as it sounds) I am brainstorming breakfast.  Time to get cookin’!   

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Nice Surprise at Vitamin Amy.

meta

