My First Overnight Oats!

July 5, 2010 § Leave a comment

I was extremely excited about this morning’s breakfast and wanted to share it with you asap but thanks to the lovely power outage I did not get the chance.  Better late than never right? 

This morning I tried out my very first Overnight Oats in a Jar (OOIAJ – Thanks Kath & Tina!)  I thought it would be perfect for this morning since my peanut butter jar was almost empty and I had to take breakfast on the go. 

Last night, I put the oats + yogurt in my peanut butter jar and added the toppings this morning.

 The Mix:

  • 1/3 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1/2 cup Stoneyfield vanilla yogurt
  • 1/4 cup Newman’s Own honey flax flakes
  • 2 tbsp. Bob’s Red Mill coconut granola
  • The last of the peanut butter in the jar

 Overnight oats are awesome!  The oats and yogurt thickened up very nicely last night so all I had to do this morning was add my toppings, stir it up and eat!  It was another hot and sticky morning so this chilly breakfast was just what I needed. 

I also took my Green Mountain breakfast blend coffee to go since I was meeting Troy at the spa @7am  to paint before leaving him to go spinning 😉 Aren’t I nice?  Don’t worry, I brought him a huge rosemary and olive bagel with cream cheese when I got back. 

I finished up a few things at work before it was time to leave…it’s TECHNICALLY still a holiday.  I headed home for lunch around 1.  We still have lots of leftovers from the party so I decided to incorporate those into my lunch. 

Sausage, onions and peppers on an Arnold’s sandwich thin + salt & vinegar kettle chips

Yum.

Skinny cow for dessert

 Along with some refreshing and healthy watermelon.

Tonight is the annual July 5th bbq at the sailing club my family belongs to.  Luckily they have free wifi and electricity!  I feel connected again.  I’ll be back later tonight to check in!  

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My First Overnight Oats! at Vitamin Amy.

meta

