No More Crying

July 2, 2010 § Leave a comment

Whew!  The party prep and food prep are all done.  It took about 1.5 hours to navigate through the packed grocery store and 3 more hours to prepare everything.  There is so much food!  I hope everyone is hungry 🙂

The goods.

Holy avocados!

I worked on the veggie platter, guacamole prep and cupcakes. 

While I was chopping the onion for the guacamole, it was making me cry as usual.  What’s a girl to do?  Put on the chem goggles!  

I am a huge nerd. 

They worked surprisingly well!  No crying 🙂  Even my mom tried them out…she wouldn’t let me take a picture.

Finished veggie platter.  I’m proud.

You will have to wait to see the cupcakes in all their glory! 

Before mom, dad and I headed to the store, I had a peanut butter and jelly pita and some plain old kettle chips for lunch.  I was STARVING after spinning and we had some errands to do after so, sorry, no pictures!  Plus, I don’t want to bore you since I’m positive you can all visualize a pb&j.  

In the midst of chopping and mixing, I stopped for a smoothie break.  

The Mix:

  • 1 ripe nectarine
  • 1 big handful of frozen strawberries
  • A couple ice cubes
  • Grapefruit juice
  • Water

The result!

Tropical delight! 

DINNER

 I am not a fan of frozen food for dinner but we have been preparing food all day so a Newman’s Own thin crust margherita pizza will have to suffice!  I could pronounce everything on the ingredient list so why not give it a whirl?  It’s a little high in sodium but since it’s not something I eat everyday, I’m not going to stress about it. 

Fresh out of the oven. 

My plate.

The verdict:  The pizza as a whole was better nutritionally (calories and ingredients) than most frozen pizzas on the market.  The crust was nice and crispy just how I like it.  I felt that the sauce lacked flavor and tasted pretty bland.  We added our own basil to the top because there wasn’t much on there to begin with.  I probably wouldn’t buy this pizza again.  Sorry Newman’s Own, I really like your cereal and salad dressings though 🙂  

I’m off to Troy’s for some relaxation and to make a playlist for tomorrow.  What’s a party without music?  See you in the morning! 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading No More Crying at Vitamin Amy.

meta

