Pasta, Prosciutto, Parmesan

June 30, 2010 § Leave a comment

Today’s lunch was a go-to meal when I’m in a hurry or if the fridge is lacking in variety.  I satisfied my ever-present peanut butter craving by making pb&j on a Joseph’s pita. 

On the side, I enjoyed Pirate Brand Smart Puffs.  These little poofs are crunchy and incredibly cheesy – real cheese taste, not fake-o kind.  They are great to have on hand in a pinch!

I also enjoyed a few pieces of frozen banana before I headed out the door to go to work. 

DINNER

 I decided to tackle another Giada recipe for tonight’s dinner.  The main ingredients are pasta, asparagus, prosciutto and parm cheese. 

All done!

My bowl

Avocado salad on the side

This dish was simple to prepare and only took about 30 minutes total from start to finish.  The recipe yields about 4 servings so there will be plenty of leftovers.     

Ingredients:

  • 1 bundle of asparagus – cut diagonally into 1 in. pieces 
  • Pasta – any kind will do!  I used penne – about 75% of the box 
  • 1-2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 3-4 slices of thinly sliced prosciutto, cut crosswise into strips 
  • A little over 1/4 cup of thinly sliced fresh basil leaves 
  • Parmesan cheese and lots of it!  

Bring a big pot of salted water to a boil then add pasta.  After 5 minutes or so, add asparagus.  Turn off heat when pasta is al dente and asparagus is tender.  Drain.   

Then, heat olive oil in large skillet over medium heat. Add the garlic and saute until fragrant, about 20 seconds.  Add pasta and asparagus to the skillet and season with salt and pepper.  If needed, add some of the reserved cooking liquid (pasta water) and stir.  Turn off heat.  Add the prosciutto and basil.  Serve and EAT! 

I loved this dish!  It was cheesy, salty from the prosciutto, crunchy from the tender asparagus and let’s face it, pasta is always yummy.  

For dessert, Troy and I might be making his and her fruit smoothies to have while watching TV tonight yay!  Also, I MUST do laundry tonight, I am all out of workout clothes!  Luckily, I only have 1 load to do.  

P.S. The birthday present I received in the mail from my grandma and grandpa is ticking…interesting…maybe I should open it?! 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pasta, Prosciutto, Parmesan at Vitamin Amy.

meta

