Not the Parfait I Hoped For

June 28, 2010 § Leave a comment

It’s incredibly hot and sticky outside today!  My hope was to make a yogurt and “soft serve” parfait, but sadly, it did not work out the way I had hoped.  It turned out to be more of a smoothie.  

To make the soft serve, I combined frozen banana slices and frozen strawberries with a little cold water in the blender.  A food processor would have worked significantly better but we don’t own one.  The blender was being very difficult this morning.  I had to keep adding more water or else it wouldn’t blend at all.  Needless to say, my soft serve fruity mixture was not the consistency I wanted and was a little watery.  

The second thing that contributed to my parfait failure was the yogurt I used.  We are almost of out Chobani greek yogurt so I used Brown Cow vanilla instead.  Brown Cow is definitely not as thick as greek yogurt so instead of layering between the soft serve mixture, it blended into it.  

I topped my glass with coconut granola.  After I ate the granola I just stirred the whole thing up and drank it like a smoothie.  It tasted great but was not my initial breakfast plan.  Oh well!

2 slices of peanut butter toast.  One with Jif and the other with Peanut Butter & Co. cinnamon raisin swirl

I had half of my coffee before spinning aka 5:45am and the other half right this second.  Usually I feel awakened and energized after the gym but I didn’t really this morning.  Probably because it is pouring rain outside boo 😦 See you for lunch!  

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Not the Parfait I Hoped For at Vitamin Amy.

meta

