Rain, rain, go away

June 9, 2010 § Leave a comment

Cold and rainy days in June are no fun 😦  At least I can relax under the blankets in my sweats!

SNACK

Spinning class was so hard but so good today!  My tummy started to grumble during the second to last song, so by the time I got home I was starving!  Nothing whole wheat toast with pb and a drizzle of honey can’t fix!

LUNCH

Work was so busy today, I didn’t get a chance to eat lunch until 3pm!  Unheard of! (for me at least)  I was very happy with my lunch selections today..

Turkey avocado sandwich on whole wheat

Leftover roasted veg + salad

Stonyfield farm vanilla yogurt + homemade granola + strawberries 

And a little sweetness

All together…minus the granola, it was already tucked away in my lunch bag!

DINNER 

The good thing about living at home for the summer is that dinner is ALWAYS ready when I get home!  I am definitely going to miss that when I start school again in August.  

Tonight’s dinner was a Giada recipe!  I got my mom Giada’s Everyday Italian cookbook for her birthday a few months ago.  On the menu was a Chicken Spezzatino stew.  Italian stews are called spezzatini because the meat is cut into pieces; spezzare means “to cut up” or “break up.”  

Ingredients:

  • Bite-size pieces of chicken
  • Chicken broth
  • Olive oil 
  • Kidney beans
  • Celery
  • Onion
  • Carrots
  • Tomatoes/tomato paste
  • Basil
  • Thyme
  • 1 Bay leaf 
  • Salt and Pepper

Simmering in the pot…almost done!

I paired the beautiful stew (sprinkled with some freshly-grated parm cheese!) with a side salad and piece of whole wheat bread drizzled with olive oil mmm 

For dessert, I had two of my favorite homemade cookies – flourless peanut butter cookies!  Thanks Julie!  These cookies only have 3 ingredients – peanut butter, sugar and an egg, so simple!  I need to make more of these soon, these were my last two 😦

I found a really cool search engine called WolframAlpha.  It’s fun and interesting for random facts!  If you type in your name, it will give you all the stats on it.  You can also find out how many calories are in 12 almonds (90 calories FYI) or 1 Starburst (20 calories).

Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Rain, rain, go away at Vitamin Amy.

meta

